Therapeutic monitoring of vancomycin for serious methicillin-resistant Staphylococcus aureus infections: A revised consensus guideline and review by the American Society of Health-System Pharmacists, the Infectious Diseases Society of America, the Pediatric Infectious Diseases Society, and the Society of Infectious Diseases Pharmacists

Michael J. Rybak, Jennifer Le, Thomas P. Lodise, Donald P. Levine, John S. Bradley, Catherine Liu, Bruce A. Mueller, Manjunath P. Pai, Annie Wong-Beringer, John C. Rotschafer, Keith A. Rodvold, Holly D. Maples, Benjamin M. Lomaestro

Research output: Contribution to journalReview articlepeer-review

629 Scopus citations
Original languageEnglish (US)
Pages (from-to)835-863
Number of pages29
JournalAmerican Journal of Health-System Pharmacy
Issue number11
StatePublished - May 18 2020

Bibliographical note

Funding Information:
Dr. Wong-Beringer received a grant from Merck & Co. and consulted for Rempex Pharmaceuticals, INSMED, Merck & Co., Nabriva Therapeutics, GlaxoSmithKline, Paratek Pharmaceuticals, Achaogen, Inc., Bayer HealthCare, and SIGA Technologies. Dr. Bradley served on a planning committee for the US Food and Drug Administration and European Medicines Agency at the American College of Clinical Pharmacy’s annual meeting; participated in the design of a a pediatric clinical trial; served on an executive committee for the United States Committee on Antimicrobial Susceptibility Testing; and consulted for Achaogen, Allergan, ContraFect, GlaxoSmithKline, Janssen, Melinta, Merck, Nabrive, Pfizer, Theravance, and Zavante. Dr. Liu received a research grant from Nohla Therapeutics and was a member of an Independent Efficacy Adjudication Committee with Theravance. Dr. Le received research awards from the Sternfels Prize for Drug Safety Innovation, Duke University, the National Institutes of Health (NIH) and National Institute of Child Health and Human Development, and JMI Laboratories; was an invited advisory board member for FDA, the Asian Pacific Health Foundation, and Infectious Diseases and Therapy journal. Dr. Levine served on the data safety monitoring board for Contrafect and served on an adjudication panel for Novartis. Dr. Lodise received grants from the Antibiotic Resistance Leadership Group (ARLG), Merck & Co, and Motif Bio PLC; served as a health outcomes project consultant for Paratek Pharmaceuticals, Allergan, Merck & Co., and Melinta Therapeutics; served on advisory boards for Paratek Pharmaceuticals, Motif Bio PLC, Achaogen, Nabriva, and Tetraphase; served as a consultant to Paratek Pharmaceuticals, ARLG, Allergan, Merck & Co., Melinta Therapeutics, Motif Bio PLC, Achaogen, Nabriva, and Tetraphase; and was a speaker for Melinta Therapeutics, Tetraphase, and Sunovion. Dr. Maples served as an international working group member for the European Cystic Fibrosis Society and North American Cystic Fibrosis Society, served on an advisory panel for the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention and Pew Charitable Trust, and was on a committee for the Arkansas Health Department. Dr. Mueller received research grants from Merck & Co. and Hope Pharmaceutical and served on an advisory board for NxStage and Baxter. Dr. Pai received a grant from Merck, Inc., served on an advisory board for Shinogi and Paratek Pharmaceuticals, and served on the meet the professor program for Merck. Dr. Rodvold received a grant from Theravance Biopharm, NIH, ARLG, and Allergan; consulted for BLC, Entasis, Merck, Paratek Pharmaceuticals, Shionogi, Tetraphase, and Wockhardt; was a speaker at the American Society for Microbiology and European Society for Clinical Microbiology and Infectious Diseases ASM/ESCMID conference; served on the 2015– 2019 Program Committee and was 2016–2018 Program Co-Chairperson for the American Microbiology Society; and was a member of the 2017–2019 Antimicrobial Resistance Committee for IDSA. Dr. Rybak received research grants from Bayer Pharmaceuticals, the NIH Research Project Grant (RO1) Program, Merck, Allergan, the Michigan Department of Health and Human Services, Accelerate Diagnostics, Inc., NIH, Contrafect, Motif Biosciences, and the Michigan Translational Research and Commercialization Program; and served as a grant review panel member for NIH. The other authors have declared no potential conflicts of interest.


  • nephrotoxicity
  • pharmacokinetics and pharmacodynamics
  • target attainment
  • vancomycin
  • vancomycin consensus guideline

Cite this