Taxonomy of the order Mononegavirales: update 2018

Gaya K. Amarasinghe, Nidia G. Aréchiga Ceballos, Ashley C. Banyard, Christopher F. Basler, Sina Bavari, Andrew J. Bennett, Kim R. Blasdell, Thomas Briese, Alexander Bukreyev, Yíngyún Caì, Charles H. Calisher, Cristine Campos Lawson, Kartik Chandran, Colin A. Chapman, Charles Y. Chiu, Kang Seuk Choi, Peter L. Collins, Ralf G. Dietzgen, Valerian V. Dolja, Olga DolnikLeslie L. Domier, Ralf Dürrwald, John M. Dye, Andrew J. Easton, Hideki Ebihara, Juan E. Echevarría, Anthony R. Fooks, Pierre B.H. Formenty, Ron A.M. Fouchier, Conrad M. Freuling, Elodie Ghedin, Tony L. Goldberg, Roger Hewson, Masayuki Horie, Timothy H. Hyndman, Dàohóng Jiāng, Robert Kityo, Gary P. Kobinger, Hideki Kondō, Eugene V. Koonin, Mart Krupovic, Gael Kurath, Robert A. Lamb, Benhur Lee, Eric M. Leroy, Piet Maes, Andrea Maisner, Denise A. Marston, Sunil Kumar Mor, Thomas Müller, Elke Mühlberger, Víctor Manuel Neira Ramírez, Sergey V. Netesov, Terry Fei Fan Ng, Norbert Nowotny, Gustavo Palacios, Jean L. Patterson, Janusz T. Pawęska, Susan L. Payne, Karla Prieto, Bertus K. Rima, Paul Rota, Dennis Rubbenstroth, Martin Schwemmle, Stuart Siddell, Sophie J. Smither, Qisheng Song, Timothy Song, Mark D. Stenglein, David M. Stone, Ayato Takada, Robert B. Tesh, Luciano Matsumiya Thomazelli, Keizō Tomonaga, Noël Tordo, Jonathan S. Towner, Nikos Vasilakis, Sonia Vázquez-Morón, Claudio Verdugo, Viktor E. Volchkov, Victoria Wahl, Peter J. Walker, David Wang, Lin Fa Wang, James F.X. Wellehan, Michael R. Wiley, Anna E. Whitfield, Yuri I. Wolf, Gōngyín Yè, Yǒng Zhèn Zhāng, Jens H. Kuhn

Research output: Contribution to journalArticlepeer-review

124 Scopus citations


In 2018, the order Mononegavirales was expanded by inclusion of 1 new genus and 12 novel species. This article presents the updated taxonomy of the order Mononegavirales as now accepted by the International Committee on Taxonomy of Viruses (ICTV) and summarizes additional taxonomic proposals that may affect the order in the near future.

Original languageEnglish (US)
Pages (from-to)2283-2294
Number of pages12
JournalArchives of Virology
Issue number8
StatePublished - Aug 1 2018

Bibliographical note

Funding Information:
Funding This work was supported in part through Battelle Memorial Institute’s prime contract with the US National Institute of Allergy and Infectious Diseases (NIAID) under Contract no. HHSN272200700016I (Y.C., J.H.K.). This work was also funded in part under Contract no. HSHQDC-15-C-00064 awarded by DHS S&T for the management and operation of the National Biodefense Analysis and

Funding Information:
Countermeasures Center (NBACC), a federally funded research and development center (V.W.); National Institutes of Health (NIH) contract HHSN272201000040I/HHSN27200004/D04 and Grant R24AI120942 (N.V., R.B.T.); and intramural funds of the US Department of Health and Human Services to the US National Library of Medicine (E.V.K. and Y.I.W.). This work was also supported by the UK Department for Environment, Food and Rural Affairs (Defra), Scottish Government and Welsh Government (Grant no. SV3500) (A.R.F.).

Funding Information:
We thank Laura Bollinger (NIH/NIAID Integrated Research Facility at Fort Detrick, Frederick, MD, USA) for critically editing the manuscript. Thomas Briese, Ralf D?rrwald, Masayuki Horie, Norbert Nowotny, Susan L. Payne, Dennis Rubbenstroth, Martin Schwemmle, Keiz? Tomonaga and Jens H. Kuhn were the members of the 2014?2017 International Committee on Taxonomy of Viruses (ICTV) Bornaviridae Study Group; Gaya K. Amarasinghe, Christopher F. Basler, Sina Bavari, Alexander Bukreyev, Kartik Chandran, Olga Dolnik, John M. Dye, Hideki Ebihara, Pierre B. H. Formenty, Roger Hewson, Gary P. Kobinger, Eric M. Leroy, Elke M?hlberger, Sergey V. Netesov, Jean L. Patterson, Janusz T. Paw?ska, Sophie J. Smither, Ayato Takada, Jonathan S. Towner, Viktor E. Volchkov, Victoria Wahl and Jens H. Kuhn were the members of the 2014?2017 ICTV Filoviridae Study Group; Ralf G. Dietzgen, Andrew J. Easton, Gael Kurath, Norbert Nowotny, Bertus K. Rima, Dennis Rubbenstroth, Nikos Vasilakis, Peter J. Walker and Jens H. Kuhn were the members of the 2014?2017 ICTV Mononegavirales Study Group; Ralf G. Dietzgen, Leslie L. Domier, Elodie Ghedin, D?oh?ng Ji?ng, Nikos Vasilakis, David Wang and Jens H. Kuhn were the members of the 2014?2017 ICTV Nyamiviridae Study Group; Peter L. Collins, Andrew J. Easton, Ron A. M. Fouchier, Gael Kurath, Robert A. Lamb, Benhur Lee, Andrea Maisner, Bertus K. Rima, Paul Rota and Lin-Fa Wang were the members of the 2014?2017 ICTV Paramyxoviridae Study Group; Kim R. Blasdell, Charles H. Calisher, Ralf G. Dietzgen, Hideki Kond?, Gael Kurath, David M. Stone, Robert B. Tesh, No?l Tordo, Nikos Vasilakis, Peter J. Walker and Anna E. Whitfield are the members of the 2014?2017 ICTV Rhabdoviridae Study Group; and Stuart Siddell was the 2014?2017 ICTV Chair of the Animal dsRNA and ssRNA- Viruses Subcommittee. The views and conclusions contained in this document are those of the authors and should not be interpreted as necessarily representing the official policies, either expressed or implied, of the US Department of the Army, the US Department of Defense, the US Department of Health and Human Services, the Department of Homeland Security (DHS) Science and Technology Directorate (S&T), or of the institutions and companies affiliated with the authors. In no event shall any of these entities have any responsibility or liability for any use, misuse, inability to use, or reliance upon the information contained herein. The US departments do not endorse any products or commercial services mentioned in this publication. The authors declare no conflicts of interest.

Publisher Copyright:
© 2018, This is a U.S. government work and its text is not subject to copyright protection in the United States; however, its text may be subject to foreign copyright protection.


Dive into the research topics of 'Taxonomy of the order Mononegavirales: update 2018'. Together they form a unique fingerprint.

Cite this