Rosacea subtypes: A treatment algorithm

Mark V. Dahl

Research output: Contribution to journalReview articlepeer-review

29 Scopus citations


Based on various signs and symptoms, the National Rosacea Society (NRS) Expert Committee has divided the syndrome of rosacea into 4 major subtypes: erythematotelangiectatic, papulopustular (inflammatory), phymatous, and ocular. Each of the subtypes can be divided further into more specific subgroups. For example, sensory rosacea is an additional subtype that can be recognized and treated. Signs and symptoms may direct therapy. This article proposes an overview of common treatments based on subtypes. Treatments that have been validated by randomized controlled trials are reviewed. However, many excellent treatments have not been validated by double-blind randomized trials.

Original languageEnglish (US)
Pages (from-to)21-27
Number of pages7
Issue number3 SUPPL.
StatePublished - Sep 2004
Externally publishedYes


Dive into the research topics of 'Rosacea subtypes: A treatment algorithm'. Together they form a unique fingerprint.

Cite this