Preface for the special topic collection honoring Dr. Scott Chambers' 70th birthday and his leadership in the science and technology of oxide thin films

Tiffany C. Kaspar, Yingge Du, Mark H. Engelhard, Don R. Baer, Bharat Jalan, Joseph H. Ngai

Research output: Contribution to journalReview articlepeer-review

Original languageEnglish (US)
Article number041602
JournalJournal of Vacuum Science and Technology A: Vacuum, Surfaces and Films
Issue number4
StatePublished - Jul 1 2022

Bibliographical note

Funding Information:
quickly saw the possibilities of oxides as functional materials. As the funding priorities from DOE shifted away from fundamental research for environmental management, Scott’s work shifted toward research supported by the U.S. DOE Office of Science, Office of Basic Energy Sciences (BES), Division of Materials Science and Engineering, and the Defense Advanced Research Projects Agency (DARPA). As can be observed in Table I, his work evolved toward increasingly complex oxides, often with a focus on the unique properties and behaviors of interfaces and heterostructures. In 2006, Scott’s deposition capabilities were expanded by the acquisition of a pulsed laser deposition system. In keeping with his research objectives, the system was configured to produce very high-quality oxide films. In 2012, he commissioned a second MBE system. Like the original EMSL system, this one consists of an MBE deposition chamber connected by a UHV buffer line to a high energy resolution XPS/UPS spectrometer. A significant increase in the number of effusion cells (from three in the original system to 10), as well as other technical advancements, allows this MBE deposition chamber to synthesize very high-quality complex oxides, hetero-structures, and superlattices. The scope of his growing body of work is appropriately described in the citations associated with his 2019 Medard W. Welch Award from the AVS, “For pioneering contributions to understanding the origin and influence of heterogeneities, defects, and disorder in complex oxide epitaxial films and heterostruc-tures,” and the 2015 citation when elected Fellow of the American Physical Society, “For pioneering contributions in the growth and properties of crystalline oxide films, particularly the fundamental relationships between composition and structure, and the resulting electronic, magnetic, and photochemical properties.”

Cite this