Heat transfer-a review of 1986 literature

E. R.G. Eckert, R. J. Goldstein, E. Pfender, W. E. Ibele, S. V. Patankar, J. W. Ramsey, T. W. Simon, N. A. Decker, T. H. Kuehn, H. O. Lee, S. L. Girshick

Research output: Contribution to journalArticlepeer-review

18 Scopus citations
Original languageEnglish (US)
Pages (from-to)2449-2523
Number of pages75
JournalInternational Journal of Heat and Mass Transfer
Issue number12
StatePublished - Dec 1987

Bibliographical note

Funding Information:
Several conferences were devoted to heat transfer or included heat transfer topics in their sessions during 1986. The AIAAjASME 4th Thermophysics and Heat Transfer Conference, sponsored by the American Institute for Aeronautics and Astronautics and the American Society of Mechanical Engineers, was held in Boston, Massachusetts, 2-4 June 1986. Several sessions dealt with heat transfer like conduction, two-phase systems, cryogenics, convection, radiation, porous media, internal flows, others were directed towards space applications like aerodynamic heating and ablation, high temperature heat pipes, immersion cooling of microaerodynamics, melting and freezing in energy systems and processes, and thermal design of spacecraft. The papers presented at the meeting can be obtained at the AIAA Library, AIAA Technical Information Service, New York. Some are also published in the archival journals of the Institute. The 31st ASME International Gas Turbine Conference and Exhibition was held in Dusseldorf, Federal Republic of Germany, 8-12 June 1986. Sessions on film cooling and heat transfer with rotation dealt with heat transfer and many of the others included heat transfer considerations. The 1984 Gas Turbine Award was presented to H. P. Hodson for his paper “Measurements of wake generated unsteadiness in the rotor passages of axial flow turbines”. Copies of the ASME papers may be obtained through the ASME Order Department. The Solar Thermal Technology Conference, sponsored by the U.S. Department of Energy and Sandia National Laboratories was held in Albuquerque, New Mexico, 17-19 June 1986. Among the tW. E. Ibele and S. V. Patankar also contributed to the preceding reviews. By an oversight the name W. E. Ibele was omitted from the list of authors of the 1984 review and the name S. V. Patankar from the list of authors of the 1985 review.

Cite this