Guest editorial: Programmable metamaterials for software-defined electromagnetic control

Sergi Abadal, Tie Jun Cui, Tony Low, Julius Georgiou

Research output: Contribution to journalEditorialpeer-review

19 Scopus citations
Original languageEnglish (US)
Article number9032248
Pages (from-to)1-5
Number of pages5
JournalIEEE Journal on Emerging and Selected Topics in Circuits and Systems
Issue number1
StatePublished - Mar 2020

Bibliographical note

Funding Information:
Tie-Jun Cui (Fellow, IEEE) received the B.Sc., M.Sc., and Ph.D. degrees in electrical engineering from Xidian University, Xi’an, China, in 1987, 1990, and 1993, respectively. In March 1993, he joined the Department of Electromagnetic Engineering, Xidian University, where he was promoted to an Associate Professor in November 1993. From 1995 to 1997, he was a Research Fellow with the Institut für Hochfrequenztechnik und Elektronik (IHE), University of Karlsruhe, Germany. In July 1997, he joined the Center for Computational Electromagnetics, Department of Electrical and Computer Engineering, University of Illinois at Urbana–Champaign, first as a Post-Doctoral Research Associate and then a Research Scientist. In September 2001, he was a Cheung-Kong Professor with the Department of Radio Engineering, Southeast University, Nanjing, China, where he became a Chief Professor in January 2018. He is the first author of the books Metamaterials – Theory, Design, and Applications (Springer, November 2009) and Metamaterials: Beyond Crystals, Noncrystals, and Quasicrystals (CRC Press, March 2016). He has published over 400 peer-review journal articles in Science, Proceedings of the National Academy of Sciences (PNAS), Nature Communications, Physical Review Letters, Advanced Materials, and the IEEE TRANSACTIONS, which have been cited more than 20000 times (H-Factor 73). According to Elsevier, he is one of the Most Cited Chinese Researchers. Dr. Cui received the Research Fellowship from the Alexander von Humboldt Foundation, Bonn, Germany, in 1995, the Young Scientist Award from the International Union of Radio Science (URSI) in 1999, the Cheung Kong Professorship under the Cheung Kong Scholar Program by the Ministry of Education, China, in 2001, the National Science Foundation of China for Distinguished Young Scholars in 2002, the Special Government Allowance from the Department of State, China, in 2008, the Award of Science and Technology Progress from the Shaanxi Province Government in 2009, and the May 1st Labour Medal from Jiangsu Province Government in 2010. He also received the First Prize of Natural Science Awards from Ministry of Education, China, in 2011, the Second Prize of National Natural Science Awards, China, in 2014, and the First Prize of Military Science and Technology Progress Awards in 2016. His researches have been selected as one of the “Optics in 2016” by Optics and Photonics News Magazine (OSA), “10 Breakthroughs of China Optics in 2016,” “10 Breakthroughs of China Science in 2010,” “Best of 2010” in New Journal of Physics, Research Highlights in Europhysics News, Journal of Physics D: Applied Physics, Applied Physics Letters, and Nature China. He is an Active Reviewer for Science, Nature Materials, Nature Photonics, Nature Physics, Nature Communications, Physical Review Letters, Advanced Materials, and a series of the IEEE TRANSACTIONS. He was an Associate Editor of the IEEE TRANSACTIONS ON GEOSCIENCE AND REMOTE SENSING and a Guest Editor of Science China – Information Sciences. He served as on the editorial staff for the IEEE Antennas and Propagation Magazine, and is on the Editorial Boards of Progress in Electromagnetics Research (PIER) and Journal of Electromagnetic Waves and Applications.

Cite this