Food in the Anthropocene: the EAT–Lancet Commission on healthy diets from sustainable food systems

Walter Willett, Johan Rockström, Brent Loken, Marco Springmann, Tim Lang, Sonja Vermeulen, Tara Garnett, David Tilman, Fabrice DeClerck, Amanda Wood, Malin Jonell, Michael Clark, Line J. Gordon, Jessica Fanzo, Corinna Hawkes, Rami Zurayk, Juan A. Rivera, Wim De Vries, Lindiwe Majele Sibanda, Ashkan AfshinAbhishek Chaudhary, Mario Herrero, Rina Agustina, Francesco Branca, Anna Lartey, Shenggen Fan, Beatrice Crona, Elizabeth Fox, Victoria Bignet, Max Troell, Therese Lindahl, Sudhvir Singh, Sarah E. Cornell, K. Srinath Reddy, Sunita Narain, Sania Nishtar, Christopher J.L. Murray

Research output: Contribution to journalReview articlepeer-review

4914 Scopus citations
Original languageEnglish (US)
Pages (from-to)447-492
Number of pages46
JournalThe Lancet
Issue number10170
StatePublished - Feb 2 2019

Bibliographical note

Funding Information:
All authors received funding from EAT and the Wellcome Trust.

Funding Information:
We acknowledge funding from The Wellcome Trust, including financial support to the secretariat to coordinate collation of the Commission and for travel fares, accommodation, and food for the Commission meetings. The Wellcome Trust also provided administrative help in hosting two Commission meetings at their offices in London. This Commission was also funded by the Children's Investment Fund Foundation for developing graphics and for future communications and outreach. Both organisations had no role in the writing of the manuscript. All Commissioners were supported by their employing organisations (see author affiliations) to undertake the Commission's work. The findings and recommendations are those of the authors and do not necessarily reflect recommendations or policies of their employing organisations or of the funders. We are partnered by the Stockholm Resilience Centre and EAT, and we thank these organisations for continuous support in writing the manuscript. We acknowledge Per Olsson and Brian Lipinski for their comments on the draft of the manuscript, and Theresa Marteau for acting as an adviser to the policy working group.

Cite this