Engineering microbiomes looking ahead

Engineering Biology Research Consortium Microbiomes Roadmapping Working Group

Research output: Contribution to journalComment/debatepeer-review

5 Scopus citations
Original languageEnglish (US)
Pages (from-to)3181-3183
Number of pages3
JournalACS Synthetic Biology
Issue number12
StatePublished - Dec 18 2020

Bibliographical note

Funding Information:
This work was supported by the National Science Foundation, Grant No. 1818248. The Engineering Biology Research Consortium (EBRC) is a nonprofit, public–private partnership organization focused on advancing research and opportunities in engineering biology. Through a membership of leading academic researchers, cutting-edge biotechnology companies, and government partners, EBRC works to identify and address challenges and bottlenecks in engineering biology research and applications. EBRC leverages the membership and broader engineering biology research community and stakeholders to produce technical research roadmaps to inspire and drive basic research forward. The Microbiomes Roadmapping Working Group consists of leading researchers from academia, industry, and government in the field of microbiome engineering. These individuals of the Microbiomes Roadmapping Working Group served as contributing authors and reviewers of Microbiome Engineering, the technical roadmap described here, and contributed to the content and discussion of this manuscript. Engineering Biology Research Consortium (EBRC) Microbiomes Roadmapping Working Group members (affiliations at time of contribution): Adam Arkin (University of California, Berkeley), Emily Aurand (EBRC), Ania Ariadna Baetica (UC San Francisco), Jeffrey Barrick (University of Texas at Austin), Chase Beisel (Helmholtz Institute for RNA-based Infection Research), Matthew Bennett (Rice University), Jenny Bratburd (University of Wisconsin, Madison), Shane Canon (Lawrence Berkeley National Lab), Patrick Chain (Los Alamos National Lab), Matthew Wook Chang (National University of Singapore), Carrie Cizauskas (Zymergen, Inc.), Lydia M. Contreras (University of Texas at Austin), Jason Delborne (North Carolina State University), John Dueber (University of California, Berkeley), James Diggans (Twist Bioscience), Chris Dupont (J. Craig Venter Institute), Robert Egbert (Pacific Northwest National Lab), Emiley Eloe-Fadrosh (Joint Genome Institute, Lawrence Berkeley National Lab), Jason Fontana (University of Washington), Douglas Friedman (EBRC), Ute Galm (Zymergen, Inc.), Lauren Gambill (Rice University), Jeffrey Gralnick (University of Minnesota), Adam M. Guss (Oak Ridge National Lab), Ethan Hillman (Purdue University), Suzie Hsu (University of Minnesota), Amanda Hurley (University of Wisconsin, Madison), Alex Juminaga (LanzaTech), Jay Keasling (University of California, Berkeley), Richard Kitney (Imperial College London), Michael Köpke (Lanzatech), Britt Koskella (University of California, Berkeley), Eric Lee (EBRC), Stephen Lindemann (Purdue University), Bridget Luckie (University of California, Berkeley), Rebecca Mackelprang (EBRC), Christopher Mancuso (Boston University), Richard Murray (California Institute of Technology), Rebecca Nugent (Twist Bioscience), Megan Palmer (Stanford University), David Riglar (Imperial College London), Tuesday Simmons (University of California, Berkeley), Michael Smanski (University of Minnesota), Kevin Solomon (Purdue University), Liz Specht (The Good Food Institute), Ginni Ursin (Invaio), Ophelia Venturelli (University of Wisconsin, Madison), Harris Wang (Columbia University), Lingchong You (Duke University), Jesse Zalatan (University of Washington). Also available at

Cite this