Advancing nephrology division leaders advise asn

Gregory L. Braden, Arlene Chapman, David H. Ellison, Crystal A. Gadegbeku, Susan B. Gurley, Peter Igarashi, Ellie Kelepouris, Marva M. Moxey-Mims, Mark D. Okusa, Troy J. Plumb, Susan E. Quaggin, David J. Salant, Mark S. Segal, Stuart J. Shankland, Stefan Somlo

Research output: Contribution to journalArticlepeer-review

1 Scopus citations


New treatments, new understanding, and new approaches to translational research are transforming the outlook for patients with kidney diseases. A number of new initiatives dedicated to advancing the field of nephrology—from value-based care to prize competitions—will further improve outcomes of patients with kidney disease. Because of individual nephrologists and kidney organizations in the United States, such as the American Society of Nephrology, the National Kidney Foundation, and the Renal Physicians Association, and international nephrol-ogists and organizations, such as the International Society of Nephrology and the European Renal Association– European Dialysis and Transplant Association, we are beginning to gain traction to invigorate nephrology to meet the pandemic of global kidney diseases. Recognizing the timeliness of this opportunity, the American Society of Nephrology convened a Division Chief Retreat in Dallas, Texas, in June 2019 to address five key issues: (1) asserting the value of nephrology to the health system; (2) productivity and compensation; (3) financial support of faculty’s and divisions’ educational efforts; (4) faculty recruitment, retention, diversity, and inclusion; and (5) ensuring that fellowship programs prepare trainees to provide high-value nephrology care and enhance attraction of trainees to nephrology. Herein, we highlight the outcomes of these discussions and recommendations to the American Society of Nephrology.

Original languageEnglish (US)
Pages (from-to)319-327
Number of pages9
JournalClinical Journal of the American Society of Nephrology
Issue number2
StatePublished - Feb 8 2021

Bibliographical note

Funding Information:
The following individuals participated in the Division Chief Retreat in Dallas, Texas, or served on the steering committee: John M. Arthur, University of Arkansas for Medical Sciences; Michael C. Braun, Texas Children?s/Baylor College of Medicine; Alfred K. Cheung, University of Utah; Michael J. Choi, MedStar Georgetown University Hospital; Ronny Coombs, American Society of Ne-phrology; Tarra Ischele Faulk, Lackland Air Force Base; Kevin W. Finkel, University of Texas Health Science Center at Houston; Alessia Fornoni, University of Miami; David S. Goldfarb, New York Harbor Veterans Affairs Medical Center; Karen A. Griffin, Loyola University Medical Center Hines Veterans Affairs Hospital; Ken-neth R. Hallows, Keck School of Medicine of the University of Southern California; Chou-Long Huang, University of Iowa Carver College of Medicine; Tod Ibrahim, American Society of Nephrology; Talat Alp Ikizler, Vanderbilt University Medical Center; Joachim H. Ix, University of California San Diego; Craig B. Langman, Feinberg School of Medicine, Northwestern University; Thu H. Le, University of Rochester; Fangming Lin, Columbia University College of Physicians & Surgeons; Sandeep K. Mallipattu, Stony Brook Medicine; Dawn McCoy, American Society of Nephrology; Orson W. Moe, University of Texas Southwestern Medical Center; Laura L. Mulloy, Medical College of Georgia; Chirag R. Parikh, Johns Hopkins Uni-versity; Bethany S. Pellegrino, West Virginia University Section of Nephrology; Mark E. Rosenberg, University of Minnesota; Michael J. Ross, Albert Einstein College of Medicine/Montefiore Medical Center; Mark J. Sarnak, Tufts Medical Center; Tariq Shafi, University of Mississippi Medical Center; Juan Carlos Q. Velez, Ochsner Clinic Foundation; Sushrut S. Waikar, Harvard Medical School; and Myles Wolf, Duke University.

Publisher Copyright:
© 2021 by the American Society of Nephrology.

PubMed: MeSH publication types

  • Journal Article
  • Research Support, N.I.H., Extramural


Dive into the research topics of 'Advancing nephrology division leaders advise asn'. Together they form a unique fingerprint.

Cite this