Philip S Portoghese

1961 …2019
If you made any changes in Pure, your changes will be visible here soon.

Research Output 1961 2019

Filter
Review article
2011
26 Citations (Scopus)

The FEMA GRAS assessment of aliphatic and aromatic terpene hydrocarbons used as flavor ingredients

Adams, T. B., Gavin, C. L., McGowen, M. M., Waddell, W. J., Cohen, S. M., Feron, V. J., Marnett, L. J., Munro, I. C., Portoghese, P. S., Rietjens, I. M. C. M. & Smith, R. L., Oct 1 2011, In : Food and Chemical Toxicology. 49, 10, p. 2471-2494 24 p.

Research output: Contribution to journalReview article

Aromatic Hydrocarbons
Flavors
Terpenes
flavorings
Hydrocarbons
2008
23 Citations (Scopus)

The FEMA GRAS assessment of α,β-unsaturated aldehydes and related substances used as flavor ingredients

Adams, T. B., Gavin, C. L., Taylor, S. V., Waddell, W. J., Cohen, S. M., Feron, V. J., Goodman, J., Rietjens, I. M. C. M., Marnett, L. J., Portoghese, P. S. & Smith, R. L., Jan 1 2008, In : Food and Chemical Toxicology. 46, 9, p. 2935-2967 33 p.

Research output: Contribution to journalReview article

Flavors
flavorings
Aldehydes
aldehydes
ingredients
2007
20 Citations (Scopus)

The FEMA GRAS assessment of aromatic substituted secondary alcohols, ketones, and related esters used as flavor ingredients

Adams, T. B., McGowen, M. M., Williams, M. C., Cohen, S. M., Feron, V. J., Goodman, J. I., Marnett, L. J., Munro, I. C., Portoghese, P. S., Smith, R. L. & Waddell, W. J., Feb 1 2007, In : Food and Chemical Toxicology. 45, 2, p. 171-201 31 p.

Research output: Contribution to journalReview article

Flavors
ketones
Ketones
aromatic compounds
Esters
2005
90 Citations (Scopus)

A procedure for the safety evaluation of natural flavor complexes used as ingredients in food: Essential oils

Smith, R. L., Cohen, S. M., Doull, J., Feron, V. J., Goodman, J. I., Marnett, L. J., Portoghese, P. S., Waddell, W. J., Wagner, B. M., Hall, R. L., Higley, N. A., Lucas-Gavin, C. & Adams, T. B., Mar 1 2005, In : Food and Chemical Toxicology. 43, 3, p. 345-363 19 p.

Research output: Contribution to journalReview article

Flavors
Volatile Oils
essential oils
ingredients
flavor
41 Citations (Scopus)

Criteria for the safety evaluation of flavoring substances: The Expert Panel of the Flavor and Extract Manufacturers Association

Smith, R. L., Cohen, S. M., Doull, J., Feron, V. J., Goodman, J. I., Marnett, L. J., Munro, I. C., Portoghese, P. S., Waddell, W. J., Wagner, B. M. & Adams, T. B., Aug 1 2005, In : Food and Chemical Toxicology. 43, 8, p. 1141-1177 37 p.

Research output: Contribution to journalReview article

Flavors
flavorings
flavor
Program Evaluation
Safety
26 Citations (Scopus)

The FEMA GRAS assessment of benzyl derivatives used as flavor ingredients

Adams, T. B., Cohen, S. M., Doull, J., Feron, V. J., Goodman, J. I., Marnett, L. J., Munro, I. C., Portoghese, P. S., Smith, R. L., Waddell, W. J. & Wagner, B. M., Aug 1 2005, In : Food and Chemical Toxicology. 43, 8, p. 1207-1240 34 p.

Research output: Contribution to journalReview article

Flavors
flavorings
ingredients
flavor
chemical derivatives
32 Citations (Scopus)

The FEMA GRAS assessment of hydroxy- and alkoxy-substituted benzyl derivatives used as flavor ingredients

Adams, T. B., Cohen, S. M., Doull, J., Feron, V. J., Goodman, J. I., Marnett, L. J., Munro, I. C., Portoghese, P. S., Smith, R. L., Waddell, W. J. & Wagner, B. M., Aug 1 2005, In : Food and Chemical Toxicology. 43, 8, p. 1241-1271 31 p.

Research output: Contribution to journalReview article

Flavors
flavorings
ingredients
flavor
chemical derivatives
13 Citations (Scopus)

The FEMA GRAS assessment of phenethyl alcohol, aldehyde, acid, and related acetals and esters used as flavor ingredients

Adams, T. B., Cohen, S. M., Doull, J., Feron, V. J., Goodman, J. I., Marnett, L. J., Munro, I. C., Portoghese, P. S., Smith, R. L., Waddell, W. J. & Wagner, B. M., Aug 1 2005, In : Food and Chemical Toxicology. 43, 8, p. 1179-1206 28 p.

Research output: Contribution to journalReview article

Phenylethyl Alcohol
Acetals
Flavors
flavorings
Aldehydes
2004
89 Citations (Scopus)

The FEMA GRAS assessment of cinnamyl derivatives used as flavor ingredients

Adams, T. B., Cohen, S. M., Doull, J., Feron, V. J., Goodman, J. I., Marnett, L. J., Munro, I. C., Portoghese, P. S., Smith, R. L., Waddell, W. J. & Wagner, B. M., Jan 1 2004, In : Food and Chemical Toxicology. 42, 2, p. 157-185 29 p.

Research output: Contribution to journalReview article

Flavors
ingredients
flavor
chemical derivatives
flavorings
2002
163 Citations (Scopus)

Safety assessment of allylalkoxybenzene derivatives used as flavouring substances - Methyl eugenol and estragole

Smith, R. L., Adams, T. B., Doull, J., Feron, V. J., Goodman, J. I., Marnett, L. J., Portoghese, P. S., Waddell, W. J., Wagner, B. M., Rogers, A. E., Caldwell, J. & Sipes, I. G., Jun 24 2002, In : Food and Chemical Toxicology. 40, 7, p. 851-870 20 p.

Research output: Contribution to journalReview article

methyleugenol
methyl chavicol
methyl eugenol
safety assessment
flavorings
62 Citations (Scopus)

The FEMA GRAS assessment of pyrazine derivatives used as flavor ingredients

Adams, T. B., Doull, J., Feron, V. J., Goodman, J. I., Marnett, L. J., Munro, I. C., Newberne, P. M., Portoghese, P. S., Smith, R. L., Waddell, W. J. & Wagner, B. M., Mar 23 2002, In : Food and Chemical Toxicology. 40, 4, p. 429-451 23 p.

Research output: Contribution to journalReview article

Pyrazines
pyrazines
Flavors
ingredients
flavor
1999
73 Citations (Scopus)

The FEMA GRAS assessment of trans-anethole used as a flavouring substance

Newberne, P., Smith, R. L., Doull, J., Goodman, J. I., Munro, I. C., Portoghese, P. S., Wagner, B. M., Weil, C. S., Woods, L. A., Adams, T. B., Lucas, C. D. & Ford, R. A., Jul 1 1999, In : Food and Chemical Toxicology. 37, 7, p. 789-811 23 p.

Research output: Contribution to journalReview article

Flavors
flavorings
epoxides
flavor
hepatotoxicity
1996
18 Citations (Scopus)

Arylacetamide-derived fluorescent probes: Synthesis, biological evaluation, and direct fluorescent labeling of k opioid receptors in mouse microglial cells

Chang, A. C., Chao, C. C., Takemori, A. E., Gekker, G., Hu, S., Peterson, P. K. & Portoghese, P. S., Apr 12 1996, In : Journal of Medicinal Chemistry. 39, 8, p. 1729-1735 7 p.

Research output: Contribution to journalReview article

Opioid Receptors
Fluorescent Dyes
Staining and Labeling
Fluorescein
Opioid Analgesics
596 Citations (Scopus)

International Union of Pharmacology. XII. Classification of opioid receptors

Dhawan, B. N., Cesselin, F., Raghubir, R., Reisine, T., Bradley, P. B., Portoghese, P. S. & Hamon, M., Dec 1 1996, In : Pharmacological Reviews. 48, 4, p. 567-592 26 p.

Research output: Contribution to journalReview article

Opioid Receptors
Molecular Biology
Pharmacology
35 Citations (Scopus)

The FEMA GRAS assessment of alicyclic substances used as flavour ingredients

Adams, T. B., Hallagan, J. B., Putnam, J. M., Gierke, T. L., Doull, J., Munro, I. C., Newberne, P., Portoghese, P. S., Smith, R. L., Wagner, B. M., Weil, C. S., Woods, L. A. & Ford, R. A., Jan 1 1996, In : Food and Chemical Toxicology. 34, 9, p. 763-828 66 p.

Research output: Contribution to journalReview article

Flavors
ingredients
flavor
Safety
Toxicology
1993
29 Citations (Scopus)

Safety assessment of ingested heterocyclic amines: Initial report

Munro, I. C., Kennepohl, E., Erickson, R. E., Portoghese, P. S., Wagner, B. M., Easterday, O. D. & Manley, C. H., Jan 1 1993, In : Regulatory Toxicology and Pharmacology. 17, 2 II

Research output: Contribution to journalReview article

Consumer Product Safety
Carcinogenicity Tests
Mutagenicity Tests
Food Handling
Salmonella typhimurium
1992
125 Citations (Scopus)

Selective natrexone-derived opioid receptor antagonists

Takemori, A. E. & Portoghese, P. S., Jun 5 1992, In : Annual Review of Pharmacology and Toxicology. 32, p. 239-269 31 p.

Research output: Contribution to journalReview article

Narcotic Antagonists
Naltrexone
Ligands
Opioid Receptors
Occupations
1990
3 Citations (Scopus)

The bivalent ligand approach in the design of highly selective opioid receptor antagonists

Portoghese, P. S., Dec 1 1990, In : NIDA Research Monograph Series. 96, p. 3-21 19 p.

Research output: Contribution to journalReview article

Isomerism
Narcotic Antagonists
Drug Design
Opioid Receptors
Structure-Activity Relationship
1989
213 Citations (Scopus)
naltrindole
Narcotic Antagonists
Peptide Hormones
Drug Design
Pharmacology
1970
87 Citations (Scopus)

Relationships between stereostructure and pharmacological activities.

Portoghese, P. S., Jan 1 1970, In : Annual review of pharmacology. 10, p. 51-76 26 p.

Research output: Contribution to journalReview article

Parasympathomimetics
Sympatholytics
Drug Receptors
Ephedrine
Sympathomimetics
1966
104 Citations (Scopus)

Stereochemical factors and receptor interactions associated with narcotic analgesics

Portoghese, P. S., Jan 1 1966, In : Journal of Pharmaceutical Sciences. 55, 9, p. 865-887 23 p.

Research output: Contribution to journalReview article

Dextropropoxyphene
Pharmaceutical Chemistry
Methadone
Narcotics
Sensory Receptor Cells